Recommendations: January-March 2022

Hi and welcome to the reading world!

Today, I’m sharing some books I read in the first quarter of 2022 that I highly recommend! These are various genres, but I’ve noticed that I’ve especially been reading a lot of stories in graphic novel format, both fiction and non fiction so I would love more recommendations for those in the comments if you have any!

Recommendations: January-March 2022Greedy: Notes from a Bisexual Who Wants Too Much by Jen Winston
Published by Simon and Schuster on October 5, 2021
Genres: Biography & Autobiography / LGBTQ, Biography & Autobiography / Personal Memoirs, Social Science / Essays
Pages: 336

A hilarious and whip-smart collection of essays, offering an intimate look at bisexuality, gender, and, of course, sex. Perfect for fans of Lindy West, Samantha Irby, and Rebecca Solnit—and anyone who wants, and deserves, to be seen.

If Jen Winston knows one thing for sure, it’s that she’s bisexual. Or wait—maybe she isn’t? Actually, she definitely is. Unless…she’s not?

Jen’s provocative, laugh-out-loud debut takes us inside her journey of self-discovery, leading us through stories of a childhood “girl crush,” an onerous quest to have a threesome, and an enduring fear of being bad at sex. Greedy follows Jen’s attempts to make sense of herself as she explores the role of the male gaze, what it means to be “queer enough,” and how to overcome bi stereotypes when you’re the posterchild for all of them: greedy, slutty, and constantly confused.

With her clever voice and clear-eyed insight, Jen draws on personal experiences with sexism and biphobia to understand how we all can and must do better. She sheds light on the reasons women, queer people, and other marginalized groups tend to make ourselves smaller, provoking the question: What would happen if we suddenly stopped?​​

Greedy shows us that being bisexual is about so much more than who you’re sleeping with—it’s about finding stability in a state of flux and defining yourself on your own terms. This book inspires us to rethink the world as we know it, reminding us that Greedy was a superpower all along.

Recommendations: January-March 2022The Winter of the Witch by Katherine Arden

*Note, Winter of the Witch is 3rd book in a trilogy, the 1st is The Bear and the Nightingale which I’ve also linked here

Recommendations: January-March 2022The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden
Published by Random House Publishing Group on March 28, 2019
Pages: 336

In a village at the edge of the wilderness of northern Russia, where the winds blow cold and the snow falls many months of the year, a stranger with piercing blue eyes presents a new father with a gift - a precious jewel on a delicate chain,intended for his young daughter. Uncertain of its meaning, the father hides the gift away and his daughter, Vasya, grows up a wild, wilful girl, to the chagrin of her family. But when mysterious forces threaten the happiness of their village, Vasya discovers that, armed only with the necklace, she may be the only one who can keep the darkness at bay

Recommendations: January-March 2022The Witch's Heart by Genevieve Gornichec
Published by Penguin on November 30, 2021
Genres: Fiction / Fantasy / Historical, Fiction / Magical Realism
Pages: 368

When a banished witch falls in love with the legendary trickster Loki, she risks the wrath of the gods in this moving, subversive national bestselling debut novel that reimagines Norse mythology.

Angrboda's story begins where most witches' tales end: with a burning. A punishment from Odin for refusing to provide him with knowledge of the future, the fire leaves Angrboda injured and powerless, and she flees into the farthest reaches of a remote forest. There she is found by a man who reveals himself to be Loki, and her initial distrust of him transforms into a deep and abiding love.

Their union produces three unusual children, each with a secret destiny, who Angrboda is keen to raise at the edge of the world, safely hidden from Odin's all-seeing eye. But as Angrboda slowly recovers her prophetic powers, she learns that her blissful life--and possibly all of existence--is in danger.

With help from the fierce huntress Skadi, with whom she shares a growing bond, Angrboda must choose whether she'll accept the fate that she's foreseen for her beloved family...or rise to remake their future. From the most ancient of tales this novel forges a story of love, loss, and hope for the modern age.

Recommendations: January-March 2022Secret Lives of Church Ladies by Deesha Philyaw
Published by Pushkin Press on May 1, 2022
Pages: 224
Recommendations: January-March 2022Maus by Art Spiegelman
Published by Pantheon Books on April 9, 1993
Genres: Biography & Autobiography / Historical, Biography & Autobiography / Literary Figures, Biography & Autobiography / Personal Memoirs, History / Holocaust
Pages: 159

The graphic novel acclaimed as "the most affecting and successful narrative ever done about the Holocaust" (Wall Street Journal) and "the first masterpiece in comic book history" (The New Yorker) - PULITZER PRIZE WINNER - One of Variety's "Banned and Challenged Books Everyone Should Read"

Here is the paper back boxed set, in its original two-volume format, re-released to include a sixteen-page booklet designed by the artist.


A brutally moving work of art--widely hailed as the greatest graphic novel ever written--Maus recounts the chilling experiences of the author's father during the Holocaust, with Jews drawn as wide-eyed mice and Nazis as menacing cats.

Maus is a haunting tale within a tale, weaving the author's account of his tortured relationship with his aging father into an astonishing retelling of one of history's most unspeakable tragedies. It is an unforgettable story of survival and a disarming look at the legacy of trauma.

Recommendations: January-March 2022Fight Night by Miriam Toews
Published by Bloomsbury Publishing USA on October 5, 2021
Genres: Fiction / Family Life / General, Fiction / General, Fiction / Literary, Fiction / Women
Pages: 272

"Move over, Scout Finch! There's a new contender for feistiest girl in fiction, and her name is Swiv." -USA Today, "Best Books of the Year"

"Toews is a master of dialogue." -New York Times Book Review, Editors' Choice

"A revelation." -Richard Russo

NPR Best Books of the Year * Shortlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize * Writers' Trust Fiction Prize Finalist * Indie Next Pick * Amazon Editors' Pick * Apple Book of the Month

From the bestselling author of Women Talking and All My Puny Sorrows, a compassionate, darkly humorous, and deeply wise novel about three generations of women.

“You're a small thing,” Grandma writes, “and you must learn to fight.” Swiv's Grandma, Elvira, has been fighting all her life. From her upbringing in a strict religious community, she has fought those who wanted to take away her joy, her independence, and her spirit. She has fought to make peace with her loved ones when they have chosen to leave her. And now, even as her health fails, Grandma is fighting for her family: for her daughter, partnerless and in the third term of a pregnancy; and for her granddaughter Swiv, a spirited nine-year-old who has been suspended from school. Cramped together in their Toronto home, on the precipice of extraordinary change, Grandma and Swiv undertake a vital new project, setting out to explain their lives in letters they will never send.

Alternating between the exuberant, precocious voice of young Swiv and her irrepressible, tenacious Grandma, Fight Night is a love letter to mothers and grandmothers, and to all the women who are still fighting-painfully, ferociously- for a way to live on their own terms.

Recommendations: January-March 2022The Price of Salt, Or Carol by Patricia Highsmith
Published by W. W. Norton & Company on March 17, 2004
Genres: Fiction / Classics, Fiction / LGBTQ+ / Lesbian, Fiction / Literary, Fiction / Media Tie-In, Fiction / Psychological
Pages: 292

"A great American writer…Highsmith's writing is wicked…it puts a spell on you." —Entertainment Weekly

Patricia Highsmith's story of romantic obsession may be one of the most important, but still largely unrecognized, novels of the twentieth century. First published in 1952 and touted as "the novel of a love that society forbids," the book soon became a cult classic.

Based on a true story plucked from Highsmith's own life, The Price of Salt (or Carol) tells the riveting drama of Therese Belivet, a stage designer trapped in a department-store day job, whose routine is forever shattered by a gorgeous epiphany—the appearance of Carol Aird, a customer who comes in to buy her daughter a Christmas toy. Therese begins to gravitate toward the alluring suburban housewife, who is trapped in a marriage as stultifying as Therese's job. They fall in love and set out across the United States, ensnared by society's confines and the imminent disapproval of others, yet propelled by their infatuation. The Price of Salt is a brilliantly written story that may surprise Highsmith fans and will delight those discovering her work.

Recommendations: January-March 2022Star Wars Queen's Peril by E. K. Johnston
Published by Disney Lucasfilm Press on June 2, 2020
Genres: Young Adult Fiction / Action & Adventure / General, Young Adult Fiction / Media Tie-In, Young Adult Fiction / Science Fiction / Space Opera
Pages: 352

A prequel to the New York Times best-selling novel Queen's Shadow, further exploring the life of the iconic Padmé Amidala!
When fourteen-year-old Padmé Naberrie wins the election for Queen of Naboo, she adopts the name Amidala and leaves her family to the rule from the royal palace. To keep her safe and secure, she'll need a group of skilled handmaidens who can be her assistants, confidantes, defenders, and decoys. Each girl is selected for her particular talents, but it will be up to Padmé to unite them as a group.
When Naboo is invaded by forces of the Trade Federation, Queen Amidala and her handmaidens will face the greatest test--of themselves, and of each other.

Recommendations: January-March 2022The Girl from the Sea: A Graphic Novel by Molly Knox Ostertag
Published by Scholastic Inc. on June 1, 2021
Genres: Young Adult Fiction / Comics & Graphic Novels / Fantasy, Young Adult Fiction / LGBTQ, Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / Dating & Sex
Pages: 256

From the author of The Witch Boy trilogy comes a graphic novel about family, romance, and first love.

Fifteen-year-old Morgan has a secret: She can't wait to escape the perfect little island where she lives. She's desperate to finish high school and escape her sad divorced mom, her volatile little brother, and worst of all, her great group of friends...who don't understand Morgan at all. Because really, Morgan's biggest secret is that she has a lot of secrets, including the one about wanting to kiss another girl.Then one night, Morgan is saved from drowning by a mysterious girl named Keltie. The two become friends and suddenly life on the island doesn't seem so stifling anymore.But Keltie has some secrets of her own. And as the girls start to fall in love, everything they're each trying to hide will find its way to the surface...whether Morgan is ready or not.

So there are some of my reads from the first few months of the year I’d recommend checking out! If there’s any in particular you’d like a review on, feel free to let me know in the comments.

Thanks for stopping by!

Rae

One thought on “Recommendations: January-March 2022

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: